ECI asks Punjab DCs to identify NRI voters, ensure facilities for physically challenged voters

December 22, 2018 07:08 PM

AMRITSAR: Deputy Election Commissioner of India Sandeep Saxena today held divisional level review meeting with the Deputy Commissioners of Jalandhar and Ferozepur division at Amritsar today.   

Saxena categorically said that a special attention should be given to identified NRI voters so that their electoral participation must be ensured.  He also said that a drive should be initiated in the district falls under the Jalandhar and Ferozepur division as a huge population lives abroad from these areas.  

Advocating to provide the all kind of facilities to physically challenged voters across the state,  he said that all physically challenged voters should be identified at every polling booth and facilities like wheel chairs,  construction of ramps etc to be provided at required polling booths.   

He asked that  person above the age of 18 years not to be left in registration as the ECI has given the slogan of "no voter to be left behind" for upcoming general elections 2019. He said that students at colleges must be engaged for larger participation in democratic process and special camps should be organised at educational institutions.   

He said that in many places it was noticed that names from the electoral rolls were incorrectly deleted. "Special attention should be paid towards two entries of voters who have permanently changed their addresses, he said adding that In case of death, it should be ensured that name of the respective voter would be deleted from the electoral roll.

Saxena asked the Deputy Commissioners to meet booth level officers for error free photo electoral rolls as correct voter list is the base of real democratic set up in the country.  

He also asked the  Deputy Commissioners to report the problems of their district and asked about the work executive.  

Prominent amongst present in the meeting included Division commissioner ferozepur Sumer Singh Gurjar,  DC jalandhar Varinder kumar sharma,  DC Amritsar Kamaldeep Singh sangha, DC Taran Taran Pardeep Sabharwal,  DC Kapurthala Mohamad Tyab,  DC Hosiarpur Isha Kalia, DC Gurdaspur Vipul Ujjawal,  DC Pathankot Ramveer,  DC Ferozepur BS Dhaliwal,  DC fazilka Manpreet singh,  DC Mukatsar Arvind Kumar,  DC Moga Sandeep Hans.

Copyright © 2017, Punjab Newsline, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy
Download Mobile App