Friday, April 23, 2021

Punjab XI claim Trident Cup Championship

BALBIR SINGH | March 26, 2021 10:22 PM

CHANDIGARH: Punjab XI clinched the PCA Trident Cup Championship by winning the three-final series with a 2-1 margin at the Inderjit Singh Bindra PCA Stadium in Mohali today. In the final match of the series, Punjab XI registered an exciting 12-run victory to emerge champions.
The thrilling triumph was made possible due to brilliant batting by Punjab openers Prabhjot Singh and Abhjeet Garg.

They were associated in a 235-run partnership for the opening wicket stand. Prabhjot Singh 158 played a strokeful innings of 158 which was studded with 15 boundaries and two brilliant sixes. He faced 147 deliveries. His partner Abhjeet Garg slammed 100 with 10 hits to the fence. He faced 183 balls.
Batting first, Punjab XI scored an impressive total of 335 for 4 in allotted 50 overs. The second wicket partnership between Abhinav Sharma (27) and Prabhjot Singh yielded 55 runs. Ikjot Singh Thind (3 for 55) was the main wicket-taker for Punjab.
Chasing a victory target of 336, Punjab Red put up a good show but fell short of the victory target by 12 runs as they were dismissed for 323 in 49.1 overs.
Openers Mandeep Inder Bawa (9) and Vishwanath Pratap Singh (74, 7x4s, 116 balls) put on 39 runs. At the fall of Bawa's wicket Vishwanath was joined by Kashish Pasneja (56). They took the score to 147 before Kashish was run out. This pair made 108 runs for second wicket
Salil Arora (22) and Gitansh Khera (82, 11x4s, 1x6) contributed 46 runs for fourth stand. Gitansh Khera was also associated in a valuable partnership for the eighth wicket. He and Sumit Sharma (38) made a contribution of 71 runs.
Gurnoor Brar (3 for 60) and Abhinav Sharma (2 for 78) bowled but could not prevent Punjab XI winning the trophy.
Victorious Punjab XI received a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh while runners-up Punjab Red team got a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh . Abhijeet Garg of Punjab XI was declared the best player of the tournament. Abhinav Sharma of Punjab XI was adjudged the best bowler, Prabhjot Singh of Punjab XI was declared the best batsman. Gaurav Chaudhary of Punjab XI received the best all- rounder award. The best wicketkeeper award went to Salil Arora of Punjab Red. Ramandeep Singh of Punjab XI was adjudged the best fielder of the tournament.
Brief scores:
Punjab XI: 335 for 4 in 50 overs (Prabhjot Singh 158, 15x4s, 2x6s, 147 balls, Abhjeet Garg 100, 10x4s, 183 balls, Abhnav Sharma 27, Ramandeep Singh 10, Ikjot Singh Thind 3 for 55, Preti Dutta 1 for 48).
Punjab Red: 323 in 49.4 overs (Vishwanath Pratap Singh 74, 7x4s, Kashish Pasneja 56, 5x4s, Gitansh Khera 82, 11x4s, 1x6, Salil Arora 22, Sumit Sharma 38, 3x4s, 1x6, Gurnoor Brar 3 for 60, Abhinav Sharma 2 for 78, Ramandeep Malinga 1 for 73, Vinay Chaudhary 1 for 27, Gaurav Chaudhary 1 for 44).
Man of the Match: Prabhjot Singh.

Have something to say? Post your comment