Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Punjab FM’s inefficiency resulted in diversion of funds from Post Matric Scholarship corpus: Kainth

PUNJAB NEWSLINE | January 08, 2021 07:22 PM

CHANDIGARH: The symbolic hunger strike and protest dharna entered into the 12 day at Sector 25 Rally Ground, Chandigarh as protesters led by Paramjit Singh Kainth, President, National Scheduled Castes Alliance burnt the effigy of Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal accusing the minister of being responsible for diversions of funds from the corpus sanctioned for the Post Matric Scholarship scheme in Punjab.

Mr Kainth said, “The complete inefficiency of the Finance Ministry has resulted in loss of hundreds of crores of rupees meant for the welfare and benefit of the Scheduled Castes+ Other Backward Classes and marginalized communities. Manpreet Singh Badal along with the prime accused of Rs 63 crore corruption scandal, Sadhu Singh Dharamsot are responsible solely for ruining the future generation of our community. 3 lakh students have been denied admission and 7 lakh students have been deliberately not given degrees/certificates since the last 3 year due the corruption within the scheme in Punjab.”

During the protest Lekhraj Sharma, Ex-Chairman Bar Council Punjab and Haryana High Court and Jasdeep Singh Kamboj, President, DBA Ferozpur, Advocate Ravneet Singh Joshi (Convenor Small and Medium Newspaper Federation), Advocate Mohit Bharadwaj today supported the protests and gave the call to take up cases for free for the students affected by the Post Matric Scholarship scam in Punjab. “Every section of the society from employees to advocates are supporting the cause of protecting the rights of the students but the cry for help of these students has fallen on deaf years of the government.  There has been no communication in this regard and this shows how this government has disregarded the welfare of the Scheduled Castes community.” said Kainth.

The National Scheduled Castes Alliance and other fraternal organizations gave a call to other organizations to join the protests and protect the academic futures of our students. Ranjha Bakshi, President  Bazigar Organization, Sanjeev Kumar President, Satguru Ravidas Mandir, Shakti Kalyan President, Bhagwan Valmiki Chownk, Gursharam Singh, Raj Kumar Bhagat President, Satguru Kabir Committee, Om Parkash Kaka, Jaswinder Singh, Gurjeet Singh Patran (Social worker), Kirpal Singh, Rajwinder Singh Gaddu, Jaswinder Singh Rahi, Gursewak Singh, Daleep Singh Buchra of Nav Nirman Kranti Dal, Jagseer Singh, Avtar Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Balwinder Singh, Harchand Singh Ex- Sarpanch, Harbhajan Singh, Jasveer Singh, Bant Singh, Sukhwinder Singh joined the protest.

Have something to say? Post your comment